A Newer, Better Pumpkin Bread Recipe?

And possibly healthier, too. Unbelievable, since I really felt like the Joy of Cooking pumpkin bread recipe wasn’t going to get any better. I already had a recipe that my kids like to eat, so why would I muck around with it. But you know what? They never even noticed. This one is easier because it doesn’t require me to defrost butter, so I can bake it at a moment’s notice.

We were at the playground with the kids several weeks ago and a friend mentioned that she had the ‘starbuks pumpkin bread recipe.’ I was intrigued, Starbuks makes darn good pumpkin bread. Later that day she read me the recipe over the phone. I was pretty excited because it could be made dairy free. I made it once as she had given it to me and then began to tweak. I replaced half the oil with applesauce and I used the spice measurements from the Joy of Cooking recipe. The orginal spices were not nearly aggressive enough. I like my pumpkin bread to wake me up with its spiciness. Once I did that I was happy.
Untitled
Untitled

Amd would you believe I don’t have a picture of the finished product? Its true. Life got in the way and the bread ended up in the freezer and we’ve been eating it, but I haven’t gotten around to photographing it. But trust me, This is good pumpkin bread.

Go. Grab the pumpkin from your pantry. Gather the spices and start baking.

Dairy Free Pumpkin Bread
Makes two loaves

2 cups sugar
1/2 cup oil
1/2 cup applesauce
4 eggs
1 16 oz can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)

3 cups flour (I mix all purpose and white whole wheat)
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon cloves
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 cup water or milk

  • Preheat oven to 350, grease and flour (or use cake release) your pans
  • Mix the sugar, oil, applesauce, eggs, and pumpkin together in a large bowl
  • Mix all the dry ingredients together
  • Add dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture, alternating with the water or milk (flour, water, flour, water, flour)
  • Pour into prepared pans and bake for 50 minutes to one hour, until a toothpick comes out clean when tested.
Leave a Reply

