Tuesdays with Dorie: Buttermilk Crumb Muffins (Cake)

Its been a while since I posted anything here. Sorry! We’ve had a bit of a crazy month. Right after the bagels were baked, we started two weeks of craziness.

First we had the Sunfish World Championships in town. David was racing, and he came in 3rd place!
IMG_1844
IMG_1815

That’s him, boat number 3. And the morning after the sailboat racing ended, David and I flew off to Union Pier, MI for one night. We saw Lake Michigan and lots of fall colors. And we were able to celebrate a family wedding
IMG_2019
IMG_2025

It was amazingly beautiiful, and cold (40 degrees). Which was a nice change from the 90s we had been having in Florida, but it was quite a shock to go running in those temperatures. Lets just say I was not dressed appropriately, and leave it at that.

We got back into town on Sunday evening and I turned around and flew to New Jersey with the kids for some more celebrating on the very next Friday. They had never seen autumn before. And to say that they were thrilled with it would be a vast understatement.
IMG_2050
They kept running around and saying that they’ve never seen leaves like this before. We were there to celebrate Nona’s (my grandmother) 90th Birthday.
IMG_2080
We also celebrated my nephew, Brandon’s, 6th birthday. It was a soccer party, and the kids all had a ball
IMG_2126IMG_2133IMG_2134

So, with all this activity, there wasn’t a lot of time left for baking! But at least I have a big freezer, and before all of this began I was smart enough to stock it with pumpkin bread (new recipe soon), banana bread, and whole wheat bread. At least I didn’t have to worry about breakfasts and sandwich bread during such a crazy period.

This weekend, I finally got down and baked the recipe for the week, Buttermilk Crumb Muffins. It can be found on page 207 of the book.

Its a pretty easy recipe. It calls for using vegetable shortening (crisco) instead of butter….which I could not do. Fat is fat, and you might as well use a fat that has flavor, right? So, butter it was. I was also a little heavy handed in the spice measuring, and I added a bit of vanilla extract to the batter. AND I baked it as a 9 inch cake, instead of muffins. My muffin tins need to be replaced, and I hate cleaning them. It worked out fine…though I have no idea how long I baked it for. Sorry!
I also forgot to take pictures while I was mixing it up. (I hope I made up for it with the other pictures!)
Untitled
Untitled

I ate this piece after my 8 mile run this morning, I’m not going to lie–I am not a huge fan of this recipe. it tastes just ‘eh’ to me. David and Dorothy really liked it though. So, who knows?

If you want to make it yourself, you can find the recipe at Lisa’s blog, Easier than Pie, and you can also find other people’s versions at the LYL (leave your link) post at the Tuesdays With Dorie website. Check ’em out! Maybe other people are more enthusiastic about this one than I am.

12 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Buttermilk Crumb Muffins (Cake)

  1. I enjoyed these and I even thought about making it as a cake, so I’m glad yours worked out. One of the other bakers used about a third of the shortening and the rest applesauce, which sounds worth trying.

  2. Turning this into a cake was a great idea. I agree, the taste was just okay. I’ll choose to make my cranberry orange muffin any day. Besides the fact that these muffins resembled the Grand Canyon!

  3. I thought this was pretty ‘eh’ myself. I laid heavy on the spices myself, but the flavors never really popped for me. I like the cake idea, though. These seemed more cake-y than muffin-y.

Leave a Reply

