Kettle Corn

We loooove kettle corn around here. We got addicted to it at our farmers market. There is a guy who makes amazing kettle corn—its salty, its sweet, its totally addictive. He makes amazing lemonade too. But, man….that stuff is expensive. I’m talking about $5 for a bag of popcorn. I’m not saying I couldn’t afford it, I just don’t want to. I stumbled across this recipe while browzing the blog Not Without Salt. It was easy, and tasty. Perhaps not as perfect as the stuff we get at the market, but it is much less expensive….even if I do have to wash the pot out myself.

photo

The ingredients are simple. Just popcorn, sugar, oil and salt

In your largest pot, put the oil and a few kernels of the corn. pop the lid on and wait for it to start popping. When they do, put the sugar and the rest of the corn in and replace the lid.

photo

This is where things get a little tricky, you need to shake the pot so that the sugar doesn’t burn on the bottom. Once the popping has slowed, turn off the heat and dump (carefully into your popcorn bowl. Sprinkle liberally with salt. I use regular table salt here–nothing fancy.

Try…..try not to reach into the bowl too quickly….you don’t want to burn your hand or your mouth on the hot sugar!

photo

Kettle Corn

  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup popcorn kernels
  • salt to taste
6 thoughts on “Kettle Corn

    • I burned some of the corn on the bottom because I stopped to take a picture while it was still in the pot. Usually it turns out fine

  1. Just made this little bit of deliciousness. Killian asked if this was what Dorothy makes. Yep. Skips right over the adult. Came out perfect!! I used a glass lid-without it I’m pretty sure I’d have burnt the sugar.

Leave a Reply

