What’s With Dinner? Collard Greens

A few years ago I belonged to a CSA, and in the winter the bitter greens started coming. Week after week, I steamed or lightly sauteed and held my nose and ate them. I just didn’t get it. People loved eating their greens. I was obviously doing something wrong. David said it was like eating spinach on steroids. Eventually I opened up the cookbook that would change my greens eating forever. How to Cook Everything, by Mark Bittman. When I found his recipe for collard greens with double garlic, I knew that was the recipe for me. It called for a TON of garlic and to cook the greens significantly longer than I had been previously. I gathered my ingredients and started cooking.

I killed some time yesterday during Dorothy’s gymnastics practice at our local hydroponic farm: First Fruits Hydroponics. They’ve got beautiful strawberries and tons of other vegetables. Yesterday I picked up some berries and these greens. I’d never picked-my-own greens before, but I’ll definitely be doing it again. These were the youngest and least bitter collard greens that I’ve ever eaten.

garlic:
Untitled
greens:
Untitled
some red pepper, vegetable stock, and salt (if you want)

cut the central vein out of the leaves, I find it to be tough, so I just remove them
Untitled
tonight’s dinner: leftover lasagne, homemade foccacia (a baking with julia project….post will be next week) and these greens. Yum. Reid asked to taste them and he enjoyed the small amount that he ate.
Untitled
Collard Greens with Garlic
Recipe adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything.

1 lb collard greens, washed, central vein removed and chopped
1/4 cup garlic, sliced thinly
1/4 cup olive oil
dash of red chili flakes
1/2 cup chicken stock, vegetable stock or water (I typically use vegetable stock)
salt, optional

saute the garlic in the oil over medium heat with the chili flakes and salt if you’re adding it…don’t let it get brown
add the greens and stock, cover and let cook for about 5 minutes until the leaves are wilted and tender
remove the lid and cook a little more until some of the stock evaporates.

Can I just show you this cool picture? Is it weird that I think water on collards is a cool picture? You tell me:
Untitled

One thought on “What’s With Dinner? Collard Greens

  1. Pingback: Tuesdays With Dorie: Foccacia | Bake with Amy

Leave a Reply

