Tuesdays With Dorie: Croissants

I was so excited….SO excited to make this recipe, and am so dissapointed with how it turned out.

Last week wasn’t too warm here and I had finally found some fresh yeast from our local italian market, and so I got to work. I made the dough and encorporated the butter by rolling and folding, rolling and folding. Finally, FINALLY, it was time to shape and bake the pastries.

I cut them out and shaped them. Not very well I might add, and then I put them in the oven to rise. As instructed, I also included a pot of steaming water. And when I opened the door to the oven, I found this:
Untitled
a lot of the butter had seeped out of the dough from the heat of the steaming water.

I pried three croissants out of the pool of butter and put them on a fresh pan and baked them. Fresh out of the oven, they tasted great, but as they sat they became heavier and more bread-like.
Untitled
This was my first real culinary disaster….ever. I guess that’s lucky because I cook a lot, and most of it is more than edible.

I still had the other half of the dough sitting in the fridge and waiting for me. I ended up putting it in the freezer, thinking I would try again over the weekend. Guess what? I didn’t. and I tossed the rest of the dough yesterday. It was actually sort of freeing to toss it. Even if I avoided the puddle of butter again, I knew that the results were not going to live up to the ‘croissant in my head.’ and I decided that it was okay to quit.

Should you decide that you want to try to make croissants on your own (best of luck to you) the recipe can be found on page 185-186 of the book. You can also see how our host did at Girl + food + love, and the rest of the bakers links can be found here. I’m sure that many of them had a better time than I did!

19 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Dorie: Croissants

    • Thanks. They certainly didn’t live up to the idea in my head. In looks or taste. But it obviously takes practice, which I won’t be giving to this project. Oh. Well.

  1. I think that oven thing threw a lot of people off. I really think it would have been better if the recipe said to just let then raise at room temperature. The three in the picture look great though.

  2. This recipe almost got the best of me too. I was so DONE with working on them than I didn’t do the 3 hour rise in a warm place and just threw them in the oven in an act of defiance (!) after an hour in my cool kitchen. They did not rise while proofing but rose quite a bit in the hot oven. I wonder why they would ask us to put butter filled pastries in a warm environment!

  3. I let my first batch rise in the oven with the steaming water and they leaked butter as well. It must have been too warm for them. The second batch I let rise on the counter top and they fared much, much better – no butter leaking and they baked up much flakier! Your croissants still looked nice…but I wasn’t really too enchanted with this recipe either!

  4. Mine went flat after the 1 hour of proofing in the oven with the steaming water. It wasn’t good. I did the second half of the dough and didn’t proof them….which seemed to work. It is a lot of work to have that happen. I was disappointed too.

  5. I skipped the oven proofing – it just didn’t seem like it would work.
    The ones you did finish do look lovely though. Sorry this was a miss for you. That is a bummer.

  6. Sorry to hear this didn’t work for you. I let mine rise in tupperware containers, as I needed the oven for dinner, and they turned out fine. Sounds like the instructions about the oven was a tad off…

  7. Sorry these didn’t live up to your expectations…it is just like that sometimes I guess. I am counting myself lucky that mine did ok in the oven with the steaming water. They didn’t poof up but the butter didn’t melt which I guess it a good thing. Onto the next one 🙂

  8. This was a disaster for me as well. Mine did not even make it to the proofing stage – and that is the only part of the recipe I was concerned with! Oh well. Next time.

  9. With this recipe it actually takes a couple of days to complete because you make the base of the dough, refrigerate it for 8 hours or overnight, add butter/laminate/do turns, rise for 3-4 hours, and finally form and bake. I think the hardest thing for me during the recipe was rolling the dough out. I was having a hell of a time, and getting a constant workout. But it probably doesn’t help that I had recently taken a 3 hour Glucose Test and my arms were bruised up (FYI I passed).

    • I actually gave them another shot a few days later. It got even colder in fl, and I figured it was ‘now or never’ they turned out great, and I stashed a bagful of unbaked croissants in the freezer!

Leave a Reply

