Baking Clean: Corn Muffins

I don’t eat corn muffins often, and I haven’t made them in years. They were one of the first things I baked by myself as a kid. You know, from the box? We even made it sometimes in college when we wanted something easy and warm to bake in the winter. But since then, I learned that Jiffy puts things in their muffins that I wouldn’t put in mine. So I pretty much stopped baking corn muffins and moved onto other things. I discovered a bag of corn meal in my pantry the other day and then I found this recipe from an eating clean book. Needless to say, a light went on, espcially since I had all the ingredients I needed.
Untitled
It was easy to mix up…just two bowls, one for the wet ingredients, and one for the dry. I didn’t have vanilla Almond Milk, so I just poured in a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I used King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat Flour, since that’s what I had on hand.

I ate one hot, right out of the oven for a mid-morning snack. it was delicious with a little honey drizzled over it.
Untitled
Sunshine Corn Muffins
from the Everything Eating Clean Cookbook

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup cornmeal
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 eggs
2 egg whites
1/2 cup unsweetend applesauce
3 Tablespoons Agave Nectar
2 cups almond milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup plain nonfat yogurt
1 cup kernel corn (fresh or frozen)

preheat oven to 425

Mix dry ingredients together in a bowl, in a separate bowl, mix together the eggs, egg whites, applesauce, agave, milk, vanilla, and yogurt. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry. Stir gently

Fold in the corn and spoon into greased muffin cups and bake for 330-45 minutes. Keep an eye on them, though, mine were done much sooner

Leave a Reply

