In a pickle: quick pickled red onions

I had 1/2 hour between when I came home from the co-op before my appointment to get my hair colored. After I put my vegetables away I sliced up a red onion and poured some boiling water over it. I put the red onion in a bowl with some white vinegar, water and salt. And into the fridge it went. And it came out a few hours later tasting great.
IMG_0567 IMG_0569
IMG_0571
Would you believe it if I said that all three of my children ate it? I even bribed them with more onions if they ate all of their chicken. They ate all of their chicken to get more pickled onions. I served the onions with chicken breasts that I roasted with some peaches and quinoa. The chicken with peaches were solidly ‘eh’. The onions were clearly the star of tonight’s show. I put the leftovers in a jar and left them in the fridge. Every now and then I reach in and grab a slice of onion. they’re really, really good. Go grab an onion and make this.

Quick Pickled Onions
recipe from Fitness magazine

1 red onion, sliced thinly
boiling water
2 Tablespoons white vinegar
2 Tablespoons water
2 teaspoons agave nectar

Slice the onion and place in a colander, pour boiling water over.
Place onions in a bowl and add vinegar, water and agave nectar. Stir and cover. Place in refrigerator for at least 8 hours, or overnight. Toss occassionally.
Will keep for a few weeks covered in the fridge. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

