Tuesdays with dorie: Sticky Buns, redux (on a sunday)

Today we had some friends over for brunch. I hadn’t seen Laura and James in about 18 years. They met at sleepaway camp the summer we all worked there together, and she moved to London to be with him. They were in town for a family B’nai Mitzvah, and managed to carve out time to see us. They brought their three boys, Charlie, Harry and Ben. We had bagels, lox, and all the trimmings. And I took the opportunity to make the remaining ‘log’ of sticky buns that was sitting in my freezer, taunting me.

So, before I went to bed last night I mixed up some butter and light brown sugar. Some of my fellow TWD-ers said that the butter and sugar separated during baking and ended up with a puddle of butter when they turned it out onto a dish. They all reccomended mixing them together and then spreading it into the bottom of the baking tin. I followed their reccomendation, though I went lighter on the butter, the recipe called for one stick per pan, and I went with about half of that, but with all the sugar, 1/2 cup:
photo
I spread that mixture in the bottom of a round cake pan and then sliced up my log of brioche dough/cinnamon/sugar/nuts:
photo
and I sprinkled some chopped pecans on the butter/sugar mixture, and then I put in the pinwheels of yummy-ness
photo
I covered it all up with some saran wrap and put it in the fridge to defrost and rise overnight. When I woke up this morning it looked the same as when it went in last night. I had about 4 hours to get it to rise and bake before my guests arrived. So, I put it into my proofing box. AKA my microwave with the door ajar.
photo
I was worried that even in a warmish house (78 degrees) that it woudn’t be warm enough to get the yeast activated and rising in such a short time after a week+ in the freezer and an overnight in the fridge. David thought I was crazy. But it worked like a charm. At about 10:45 I took this out of the microwave
photo
I put it on a foil lined baking sheet and into the oven it went. and about 45 minutes later I took it out. Laura and James cheered me on as I flipped it over to find this:
photo
I had to scrape out some of the caramel and nuts that stayed behind, but there was no pool of unencorporated butter.

After our bagels, we all tasted the sticky buns. I shared one with David, Laura ate one, James and Ben shared theirs. Ben could not get enough. Ben is only 2. I’m sorry I didn’t get a shot of him eating this, I really think he enjoyed it more than any of us. He actually came back to the table and had another.
photo
Personally, I think I’m more interested in cinnamon buns that have a confectioners sugar glaze on the top, this was too sweet for me. But they were delicious, there is no denying that. Would I make it again? Probably not, we’re not pecan sticky bun type people. If I did make them again, I would definitly skip the ‘lamination’ step in the recipe. I think they’d be just as good without it, and slightly (ever so slightly) lower in fat and calories. I don’t think anyone would miss the extra butter. Making them in the tin all together like this made them better than the individual one that I made earlier in the week.

One thought on “Tuesdays with dorie: Sticky Buns, redux (on a sunday)

  1. Well, despite your slow rising, which you dealt with perfectly- they look scrumptious! And sharing with guests is the best!

Leave a Reply

