Tuesdays With Dorie: Sticky Buns (and Brioche)

I didn’t take very many pictures for this week’s recipe. In fact, I only took one….for the finished product. Our assignment this time was to make Pecan Sticky Buns (recipe on page 190.) But first, we had to make Brioche (recipe on page 43)

The brioche wasn’t difficult, but it was time consuming. First we had to make a sponge, and that had to sit for 40 minutes, then the dough, and that had to rise for 2 hours, and then overnight in the fridge. But the thing about this dough that I really didn’t like was the fact that the recipe called for  1 1/2 sticks of butter to be added to the dough. It only had 3 1/2 cups of flour, so we’re not talking about a huge amount of dough here….so it was intended to be VERY buttery. I cut it down to just one stick, I just didn’t have the heart (pun intended) to encorporate that much butter into the dough. As it was, I had to add much more flour into it because the butter was making it so sticky. Only once the dough was finished having its overnight rest in the fridge was it ready to be formed into the sticky buns.

And we had to add yet more butter to the dough. The recipe instructs us to roll and fold the dough as for puff pastry twice, so that we get layers of butter in the dough, thereby making these the “ne plus ultra of sticky bundom.” I had already decided to cut the recipe in half, and turn the balance into just plain brioche. So I divided my dough in half and only used about 2 tablespoons of butter (the recipe calls for 3/4 of a stick per 1/2 of the dough) to ‘laminate’ the dough. And then it rested in the fridge for a while. When I was good and ready, I rolled it out, and brushed on an egg wash, spread some cinnamon/sugar and nuts over it, and rolled it up. Into the freezer it went.

And it stayed in the freezer until this afternoon. I trimmed off the ends and baked them up with some (more) butter and brown sugar in two individual muffin cups. They came out looking beautiful.
photo
But they were so sweet, they made my teeth hurt. I’m looking forward to reading how other people dealt with the recipe and perhaps find some modifications for when I bake off the rest of them this weekend for brunch

But, here’s the thing. I baked Challah last week using the recipe on page 93. The recipe is suprisingly similar to the brioche. It has more milk, less butter, and makes more dough. I can’t tell you how much more I liked it than the brioche. The dough is so easy to work with, and made a beautiful challah. I brought it to a potluck dinner and the best compliment I heard was “it looks like it came from a deli, but I bet you made it”

So, I’m not planning on making this brioche again, and sticky buns don’t exactly fit into my life very often, but the challah recipe is definitely a keeper. Lynn and Nicole are the hosts for this week. They’ll have the recipe on their blogs, in case you have any desire to try it after my glowing review. As always, there will be a LYL (leave your link) post on the Tuesdays With Dorie website. I know I’ll be curious to see how everyone else liked this recipe.

12 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Dorie: Sticky Buns (and Brioche)

  1. With this recipe we surely gained experience (and probably weight as well)
    I’ve cheated on the butter and the brioche was still yummy (it needs more salt and sugar, though). Unfortunately I did not like the topping: too sticky.
    I’ll remake the “modified brioche” for sure.

  2. I preferred the brioche recipe in Around My French Table to this one, so maybe another recipe will make a difference for you. I’m looking forward to trying the challah, as I’ve never made it before.

  3. Pingback: Tuesdays with dorie: Sticky Buns, redux (on a sunday) | Bake with Amy

  4. Pingback: Tuesdays With Dorie: Savory Brioche Pockets | Bake with Amy

Leave a Reply

