better late than never: Kosher for Passover Brownies

It never ceases to amaze me that my friends love this recipe enough that they want me to make it even when its not Passover. I always think of Passover foods as reasonable facsimiles of the foods they are copying. But everyone, and I mean EVERYONE who tastes these brownies loves them. This year I made a batch and brought them to my cousin’s house in NJ for the 1st seder, and then made another for the 2nd seder. They always get gobbled up. They’re rich, fudgy and chocolatey–exactly what you want out of a (passover) brownie, I guess!
photo photo
So, even though Passover ended a few weeks ago, I made them for this weekend. A friend opened up her house for a craft night, and we crafted, ate and talked….all night long.

Kosher For Passover Brownies
Good for Passover…..and all year round.

1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup ( 2 sticks) unsalted butter or unsalted Passover margarine, melted and cooled
3 eggs
1 tablespoon brewed coffee
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
1/4 teaspoon salt (Omit if using salted butter)
1 scant cup matzoh cake meal
1/2 cup finely chopped toasted walnuts (optional)
approx 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Line an 8 inch square baking pan with aluminum foil, you could butter the foil….but I always forget.

I’ve gotten this down to a one bowl recipe: melt the butter in the microwave in the bowl you indend to use, let it cool slightly

Add the sugars, coffee, cocoa, eggs and cake meal. Stir until combined, then add the chocolate chips and/or the walnuts.

Pour into the baking pan, smooth out the top and bake for about 25-30 minutes. Don’t overbake!

Leave a Reply

