Tuesdays With Dorie: Lemon Loaf Cake

I love me a good lemon cake. I love lemon in just about anything. When I plan to make something lemony for dinner, David often asks me to tone down the lemon. But I can’t! I love it! I add the zest to pasta salad, and both zest and juice to a yummy pasta with feta cheese. But that’s not why were here today…. The other day I made the Lemon Loaf Cake from Baking With Julia. You can find the recipe on page 252 of the book, or at our hosts for this recipe Truc at Treats and Michelle at The Beauty of Life.

This was an easy recipe. I think it  took me longer to zest three lemons than it did to mix the whole thing together.
photo
I whisked the eggs, sugar and a bit of salt together, and then I added the zest:
photo

I gently whisked in the flour, and then the cream and melted butter

photo photo
and I baked it for about an hour at 350. But I wasn’t done yet. Up till now I followed the recipe exactly as it was in the book. But I had baked a lemon yogurt cake from the Barefoot Contessa At Home, and I remembered that it soaked the cake in a lemon syrup and then once it had cooled, it was drizzled in a delicious lemon glaze. So I went for it!
photo
The syrup is just 1/3 cup lemon juice and 1/3 cup sugar cooked together until the sugar dissolves and is clear.
The glaze is just 1 cup of of confectioners sugar and 2T (or more) lemon juice
photo photo
After the cake comes out of the oven, let it cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Then take it out of the pan and set it on a cooling rack that is over a plate or baking sheet. Slowly drizzle with the lemon syrup. Let it cool and then drizzle it with the glaze.
photo

This cake is delicious, and very, very easy to bake. The syrup and the glaze only take a few minutes and add a lot to the cake, flavor-wise. I would make it this way again….sometime!

9 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Dorie: Lemon Loaf Cake

  1. Love your photos. I too believe that more lemon is better. Next time I make this I will take a page from your book (or Ina’s) and add the syrup.

  2. Everyone and their glazes! I wish I would have thought of that as well. I iced it, but I think a glaze would have added some much-needed moisture.

Leave a Reply

