Irish Soda Bread–Tuesdays with Dorie

This week’s assignment was to make Irish Soda Bread from the book.  You can find the recipe on page 214. I wasn’t terribly excited about baking it. Could be all the talk of leprachauns from Dorothy made me not want to make it. I’m a little tired of hearing about all the mischief that the ‘little green men’ have been causing, and the imagined mischief that they’ve caused in my own house. Whatever… Sunday morning I woke up ready to bake. This recipe fits into my ‘stupid easy’ category. One bowl. Two measuring cups. Two measuring spoons that didn’t even need to be washed. It doesn’t get much easier than that. *I cut this recipe in half because I didn’t want an enormous loaf of bread lying around that I’d be tempted to eat all by myslef.

It’s super easy. Take some buttermilk
photo
and some flour
photo
and mix it together with some baking soda, salt and I also tossed in about 1 Tabelspoon of sugar
knead it gently. Very gently, and for only a minute. Then put it in a glass baking dish that’s had the bottom buttered.
photo
And bake. Let it bake until your house smells really good and it’s nice and golden brown.
photo
Slice, and serve with butter and house made strawberry jam
photo
photo

I think this recipe could be easily modified….toss in some dried fruit and citrus zest. Grate up some cheese. Or leave it plain….it’s delicious just the way it is!

This week’s TWD/BWJ post is graciously hosted by Carla, of Chocolate Moosey and Cathleen, of My Cullinary Mission. You can find the recipe on their blogs if you’re interested in trying it out. You can also check out the Tuesdays With Dorie blog for a LYL (leave your link) post which will have links to the hundreds of other bloggers that baked Irish Soda Bread this week.

13 thoughts on “Irish Soda Bread–Tuesdays with Dorie

  1. I’m going to have to do a little half loaf like this to give this another try. My variations did not work out the first time. Yours looks really yummy! I wish I had some homemade strawberry preserves left from last summer but those don’t last long around here! 🙂

    • my husband had a slice, and I ate it for breakfast for a few mornings. I knew more than that would have been a bad idea. it was yummy, though!

  2. OMG, LOVE your plate! 🙂 your bread looks good too! I went the other direction though, I doubled the recipe because we were expecting twenty or so to eat with us. 🙂

    • those plates came with this house when we bought it 2 years ago. the people liquidating the estate of the previous owner didn’t want them, so we asked if they’d just leave the dishes. They’re Noritake, discontinued in the early 50’s. its nice to have beautiful china that I’m not attached to in any way!

Leave a Reply

