zucchini bread

Adam and Reid have largely stopped eating pumpkin bread. so, I guess its time to change it up. This time, I switched to zucchini bread. I’ve modified the recipe that my mother made when we were kids. I replaced 1/2 of the oil with applesauce, cut back on the sugar and replaced 1/2 of the white flour with white whole wheat. You can’t even taste the difference.

photo

That’s a lot of zucchini, right? I usually aim to have more than the recipe calls for. It’s what makes this recipe ‘healthy.’ After all, zucchini is a vegetable. And I’ll do anything to get my kids to eat vegetables.

photo

As always, I double the recipe and freeze it. I figure that if I’m doing the work….I might as well just bake more since I have space in the freezer. It doesn’t take any more labor to make a larger batch.

photo

Zucchini Bread
makes 2  8-inch loaves

3 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 1/2 cups sugar—I use less, probably 2 cups…maybe even less
2 cups grated raw zucchini (I probably use more)
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking powder
3 cups flour (1 1/2 cups AP, 1 1/2 cups white whole wheat)
1 cup chopped walnuts–optional
1 tsp. baking soda

Beat eggs till foamy

Beat in oil and applesauce, add sugar

Add zucchini, cinnamon, salt baking soda, baking powder – mix well

Gradually blend flour.  Mix well after each addition.

Pour into 2 greased loaf pans, or muffin tins

Bake 50 minutes at 350

Muffins take about 20 minutes.

Cool 10 minutes, loosen edges, shake loose.

 

I know from experience that this makes great muffins, and you can even ice them with some cream cheese frosting….and that makes them cupcakes!

One thought on “zucchini bread

Leave a Reply

