A basic white bread, Baking With Julia

So, this is my first post with the Tuesday’s with Dorie/Baking with Julia group. I’m so excited! So, welcome if you came by via the Tuesday’s with Dorie page

Yesterday I got myself ready to bake the first recipe for in Baking With Julia.

Easy enough…a basic white loaf. Something I’ve done dozens of times before. This recipe was only unusual in that it had me add the butter after the dough had already been kneaded for 10 minutes. Before I added the butter, i had a beautiful dough. The recipe told me to add the butter a tablespoon at a time. But, it said, don’t worry if your beautiful dough falls apart. More kneading in the mixer would remedy the problem. It did, and it did.

I let it rise, divided it in two, and turned it into loaves. I let it rise again and baked them for about 45 minutes. The house smelled amazing. There is nothing like the smell of freshly baked bread

The only change I made was to replace 1/2 of the white flour with ‘white whole wheat’. Even though I haven’t tasted it yet, I know it isn’t going to make much of a difference. I can’t help myself, as a mom, I just can’t bake bread with only white flour. Sorry Julia.

20120126-140221.jpg
David thought I was totally nuts when I wrapped up the loaves and announced we were taking them to Sun Valley with us–don’t they have bread there? Yes! But I want to make French toast with it!

20120126-140235.jpg

Perhaps not the best food pictures ever, but the bread and the French toast were really good

If you’re interested, you can find the recipe at Laurie’s blog,  Slush and at Jules’ blog Someone’s in the Kitchen (I won’t be posting the recipe unless I’m the ‘host’ that month) You can find a link to all the posts for this recipe at Tuesday’s with Dorie. Next time we’ll be tackling chocolate tarts

16 thoughts on “A basic white bread, Baking With Julia

  1. I was wondering what would happen if I subbed in whole wheat – it looks like yours turned out awesome! How was it texture-wise? We don’t eat white bread either but this recipe may have to be the exception – the bread is just that delicious!

    • I used “white whole wheat”, not the traditional wheat flour. it was very good. I’ve started replacing 1/2 of the AP flour in just about all my baked goods with the king arthur white whole wheat flour. I can’t taste a whole lot of difference in things like pumpkin bread. the white WW is not as earnest, if you know what I mean, as regular WW flour.

      • Aha! I use straight up KA whole wheat for all of my quick breads – it’s good to know that the white whole wheat works in this recipe. I always forget about the “other” whole wheat. =)

  2. This was the first time we’ve had “plain” white bread in our house in at least 5 years. Probably more like 10. But it was sooooo good. I wanted to use white whole wheat flour but I’d never made yeast bread before so I was worried that it wouldn’t work well (and not having a comparison, I wouldn’t know it). Good to know that I can use it next time!

  3. KAF White Whole Wheat has to be one of my favorite products of theirs (after their bread flour and unbleached A-P). I sneak it in to most of my baking – what they don’t know…
    Looking forward to more TWD!

  4. Good job of getting more whole grain into you and your family’s diet! I only use 25% red whole wheat; if I use too much my husband starts to balk at the denseness. You’re right, the white WW is less bitter and has milder flavor. still with the benefits of whole wheat. Nice!

  5. I’m with ya about the white bread thing. I did my first ones with unbleached white for the sake of trying it, and it was tasty, but while I’ll make the loaves again (and again), I likely won’t use just white. I much prefer the more rustic, whole grain stuff, or what my boyfriend refers to as “nut and twig” bread 😉

  6. I felt a little guilty making such fibre-free bread, but I decided to view it as a treat. It turned out perfectly with the white whole wheat flour you used.

Leave a Reply

