pumpkin bread

I make this recipe A LOT. and I make A LOT of it. Its from the Joy of Cooking  Its not a book that I love, but there are a few recipes that keep me coming back. The kids, primarily Adam, and David (my husband) love this bread.

When I make it I quadruple it. you did not mis-read, I QUADRUPLE the recipe. I have a big freezer, and I figure if I’m baking….I might as well BAKE! At the very least, you have to double it, because it calls for 1 cup of pumpkin puree, which is exactly 1/2 of a can of puree. Who only uses 1/2 a can, and saves the rest for later?

photo
photo

here’s the recipe….with my adjustments. Makes 2 loaves of delicious pumpkin bread

3 cups AP flour (I replace 1/2 of that with King Arthur White Whole Wheat)
1T ground cinnamon
2t baking soda
2t salt (I use salted butter, so I omit)
2t ground ginger
1t ground nutmeg
1/2t ground cloves
1/2t baking powder
2/3 cup water or milk….or a combination
1t vanilla
12T butter
2 2/3 cup sugar (white, brown or a combination. I usually mix it up)
4 Eggs
1 can pumpkin puree–not pumpkin pie filling!

In a bowl, comine all the dry ingredients

In your mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar. Then add the eggs one at a time. Add the pumpkin puree and beat on low speed until just blended

Mix the milk and vanilla together

Add the flour in 3 parts, alternating with the milk mixture in 2 parts (flour, milk, flour, milk, flour). You may need to stop and scrape down your bowl in between additions

Butter and flour your loaf pans. I use Bakers Joy

Pour into 2 loaf pans and bake in a preheated 350 oven for about 1 hour until a toothpick comes out clean.

Cool in the pans for 10 minutes before removing to a cooling rack to cool completely 

 

This also makes great muffins, though at the moment I don’t recall how many you get! I’m thinking its at least 18. I wrap one loaf in aluminum foil to freeze.

One thought on “pumpkin bread

Leave a Reply

