two blueberry muffins

the other day after picking blueberries, I was obviously hit with the desire to bake muffins. I went looking for a lowfat recipe.

I made the blueberry muffin recipe from Mark Bittman’s “how to cook everything”.  Here is his basic muffin recipe:

3T melted butter
2 cups flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 t salt
3 t baking powder
1 egg
1 cup milk, plus more if needed
and per his instructions I added:
1/4 cup sugar (additional
lemon zest (about 1/2 lemon’s worth)
1 t cinnamon (which I forgot)
1 cup blueberries, I used frozen

  • Mix the dry ingredients together
  • Mix egg, butter and milk together and add to dry ingredients.
  • make sure to leave lumpy–don’t stir too much
  • fold in the blueberries
  • spoon into muffin cups and bake at 400 for 20-30 minutes

now, here is the recipe I’ve been making for years. I think my mother found it in the NY Times a long time ago:

½ cup unsalted butter (I use salted margarine)
2 tsp. grated lemon zest
1 cup plus 1 Tbs. sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups cake flour (I use regular flour)
2 tsp. baking powder
1½ tsp. kosher salt (I omit altogether)
1½ cups fresh blueberries (I often use frozen)
½ cup milk

  • Preheat oven to 375. Using an electric mixer combine the butter and lemon zest.  Add one cup of sugar and beat until light.  Mix in the egg and then the vanilla.
  • Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt.  Place the blueberries in a bowl and toss with ¼ cup of the flour mixture.  Add the remaining flour mixture to the butter mixture alternately with the milk, mixing just to combine.  Gently fold in the blueberries.
  • Line a muffin pan with paper muffin cups.  Spoon the batter into the cups, filling them about ¾ full.  Sprinkle the tops with the remaining sugar.  Bake until muffins are lightly browned and spring back when touched in the center, about 30 minutes. Let cool slightly before serving.  If you use frozen berries, it will need a little longer.

Mr Bittman’s muffins were…fine. they have much less sugar, which was nice, but they’re not as earth-shatteringly-good as the 2nd recipe.

Leave a Reply

