Bake along with me…

I’ve been thinking about this alot, and this weekend I decided that we’re not buying anymore store bought bread. I made this announcement to David, who promptly laughed at me.  But then he asked me a bunch of questions, and thought it was a really good idea. but he ended the conversation by asking if I really wasn’t going to buy anmore bread? and what would happen to the good people at arnold bread? I told him that other people will have to step up and buy their own.

Then he asked if I’d be bringing my sourdough culture out to Idaho in July. I think we’ll have to wait and see about that.

I have 2 sourdough cultures bubbling away on my counter–one white, one whole wheat, and a copy of James Beard’s “Beard on Bread”

My plan is this: bake enough bread for my family.

I’ll be using the following resources: Beard on Bread, sourdough home, and other sourdough internet resources.

I’ll be blogging every time I bake a loaf of bread. If the recipe came from the internet, I’ll post the recipe. but if it came from a book, I’ll give you the reference. (copyright issues)

I hope that this blog keeps me honest, and really not buying bread.

So, come along and bake with me!

2 thoughts on “Bake along with me…

  1. Did you know that Melissa does this too? I think that it’s fantastic – can’t wait to hear all about it! My bread baking is on hold until after the wedding – I’m never in one place long enough!

  2. Like mother like daughter. You’ve got me baking again. Baked a loaf of bread over the weekend, and boy was it delicious. Dad thought it was delicious too, but that didn’t stop him this morning from going to buy his bagels. Should I be making bagels? I don’t think so. Love Mom

Leave a Reply

