Tuesdays With Dorie: Pizza With Onion Confit

The last month has been crazy, and January is possibly shaping up to be even more so. I participated in the Ragnar Relay. My team, the Real Housewives of Pinellas County ran 197 miles from Miami to Key West this past weekend. My last run for that race was over the 7 mile bridge. I didn’t look quite that cute while I was running. In the group picture, I’m in the bottom row with the black do-rag.
Untitled
Image 3
The Relay was a spectacular experience. I’m seriously contemplating going back and doing it again next year

Next weekend, I’m running the Disney Marathon, and then we head out for vacation in Sun Valley, ID. I’m exhausted just writing that down. Well, I’ll need lots of carbohydrates for this journey, so these recipes were a good place to start

These were two delicious recipes. The pizza dough was super easy, even though it called for making a sponge….and then the final dough. I doubled the recipe and put half of it into the freezer, which was smart. I made the kids pizza one day during winter break as lunch when we had another friend over for lunch (4 kids….it was a fun day!)
The confit came together very easily, and it was delicious. I even ate it on english muffins for breakfast!
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
I made one pizza with goat cheese and the onions for myself and David (though it was really for me….he doesn’t love goat cheese) and the rest of the dough was transformed into regular pizza’s to celebrate Adam and Reid’s 5th Birthday.

The recipe for the dough will definitely go into regular rotation around here, and I’ll continue to double the recipe and freeze half. It was nice to not have to think about making dough the second time I made it. And the onions? I think I’ll keep that recipe in my back pocket. I think it would make a lovely onion tart on our future puff pastry.

The recipe for the pizza and the onions can be found on page 159 of Baking with Julia. You can also find the recipe at Paul’s Blog, The Boy Can Bake. Also be sure to check out everyone else’s delicious examples at the ‘Leave Your Link LYL’ post at Tuesdays With Dorie.

16 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Dorie: Pizza With Onion Confit

  1. Congratulations on the Ragnar Relay! I’m sure it was amazing and wish I was there with you and all the mamas. Nice job!

    • The relay was crazy stupid fun. Amazing that anyone would think that running and sleep deprivation equals fun, but it really was. We’re always thinking about next year.
      What’s your pace? I’m sure we’ll be looking to full some spots for next year!

Leave a Reply

