Baking with Julia: Gingerbread Baby Cakes

Can you believe, I’ve never made gingerbread before?

Not the little men, or cake. Never. I guess there’s a first time for everything–even the easy stuff
I halved the recipe because I was pretty sure that my crew of tasters might not be that thrilled with it. I ended up with a loaf and three tiny cakes baked in silicone cupcake cups. I should have done the whole batch that way–they turned out absolutely adorably.
I mixed up the dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, salt, cocoa powder, instant espresso, black pepper, and ginger. It felt like I was putting the kitchen sink in that bowl. Then the wet ingredients: butter, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla, molasses and fresh ginger. Dry got folded into wet and into the oven it went.

My sous-chef, Adam was very excited to help me out with the mixing and pouring.
Untitled
Adam mixing the dry ingredients
Untitled
Adam pouring in the molasses. He was absolutely fascinated.
Untitled
Adam painting cake release into the pan. Cake release is pretty awesome, and very easy to make yourself. Here’s a link to the recipe I used to make it.

Did you know that a little oil in the measuring cup helps molasses (or honey or anything else that’s very sticky) come right out of the measuring cup?
Untitled
The pepper and ginger combined to make it a very spicy cake. It was dense and pretty good…though I have nothing to compare it to. The loaf went to school for the teachers, and I heard a few compliments.
Here’s one of the tiny cakes. I had to bring it outside to get a decent picture. Dark brown cake just doesn’t photograph that well in the dying light…
Untitled
In case you want the recipe, you can find it at Karen’s blog, or in the book. As always, take a look at the Leave Your Link (LYL) post on the Tuesdays with Dorie blog.

15 thoughts on “Baking with Julia: Gingerbread Baby Cakes

  1. They are adorable. Glad you liked them. I found the flavour really strong, and I’m a gingerbread lover. I think next time I’ll change the molasses and ginger amounts.

  2. Looks like you had great help in the kitchen. The cakes look cute, too. I wasn’t crazy about this one but then again I’m not a big molasses fan.

    • its so funny that everyone loves that shirt!
      the plate is from a set of discontinued Noritake China (circa mid 1940s) The estate we bought our home from was going to donate them, so I asked them to leave the dishes and they did. They are beautiful dishes, and we have tons of teacups, demitasse and cafe au lait as well. But the square plates are my absolute favorite!

Leave a Reply

