Tuesdays With Dorie: Whole Wheat Loaves

This week’s task was to make Whole Wheat Loaves (recipe on page 83 of the book). I couldn’t have been more thrilled to bake this. I’ve been baking all of my family’s bread since July, and I was curious to see if my people liked this recipe better than the potato bread I’ve been making. It was delicious, but they prefer the more time consuming Potato Bread.

I baked this bread right before leaving to spend the weekend with my parents so that I could spend time with my Nona. She decided a few weeks ago that she wanted to stop eating. Thankfully she is eating again, but I still felt like I needed to get up there and spend some time. I was able to spend two great afternoons with her, make a dinner for my parents, and help them clear out their garage a bit and move some stuff into their storage locker. It was a good visit.

I didn’t even look at the recipe before getting down to bake it. I was lucky that I had everything on hand. The recipe calls for malt extract, which is an unusual ingredient that I’ve used in my bagel making exploits. I used this. And I keep it in the refrigerator.

I didn’t take a single picture of the process of making this bread. It was a fairly straightforward operation. Soften yeast in water, add the flour and the rest of the ingredients and knead it together. Done. I did get to make the bread with my sous-chef, Dorothy. And she had a great time kneading the dough.
IMG_0781 IMG_0783
I made myself a sandwich to take on the airplane, and only ate half of it because my parents were taking me to the diner, and I was looking forward to sharing a grilled cheese and salad with my mom. But, it was hard to stop eating the PB&J
IMG_0790
IMG_0788
On Monday morning I sliced up a loaf of bread for the boys lunches. Its a nice, tightly grained loaf of bread, and it isn’t too…..earnest. I like it because it doesn’t contain any dairy. I might not make it very often (because my biggest critic is a fan of the other bread) but I’ll definitely be making it again.

Take a look at Tuesdays With Dorie for the LYL post for lots of my fellow blogger’s examples of their breads. And also look at our hosts for the week: Veggie Num Nums¬†and The Family That Bakes Together. They’ll both have the recipe posted in case you want to give this a try. You totally should.

15 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Dorie: Whole Wheat Loaves

  1. Inevitably, the eaters choose the more complicated bread! I’m going to have to pick up some malt extract and try this one again some time, to compare it to the molasses version we made.

  2. Sous-chef Dorothy is having a great time – she’s lovely!

    This is my favourite recipe from the book so far. Such a versatile bread is a dream!
    We had it toasted and not-toasted with butter and honey or butter and jam,
    we use it for sandwiches or anytime we like to eat bread.
    I have tons in the freezer, now.

  3. You’re amazing—-baking all your family’s bread!!! Awesome!!! I think a few different recipes to switch between is a fantastic idea. :) I loved this recipe as well!

  4. Pingback: Tuesdays with Dorie: Buttermilk Crumb Muffins (Cake) | Bake with Amy

Leave a Reply

