Tuesdays With Dorie: a Blueberry and Peach Birthday Galette

I know, I know, I’m a little late with this post.  Today is Thursday, and these posts are supposed to go up on Tuesdays. But we’re visiting my parents, and today is my dad’s birthday. He’s 62. So I baked a few days late. So sue me…..

I made the dough yesterday (Wednesday) and the dough came together easily enough. I didn’t need to add the full amount of liquid in the recipe to get the dough to hold together. Though, the method of mixing the ice-water and yogurt or sour cream together is definitely odd in my opinion. Once again, there are no photos of the dough-making because my hands were covered in it. I need to employ a photographer….which I did do for the galette-making. My dad was happy to help (for the blog)

The dough was easy to roll out…maybe a little too easy, and then it stuck to my parchment paper and saran wrap. Into the freezer it went so that it could firm up enough to fold over the fruit. I wet my hands and got the crust a little wet and sprinkled a bit of sugar on it for a little crunch. And into a 400 degree oven it went.
IMG_1267
The rolling pin is a little narrow for my tastes, but it was made by my grandfather for my grandmother out of a broom handle a long time ago. I figure the rolling pin is at least 65 years old, if not older.
I filled the galettes with peaches and blueberries, even though our last assignment was nectarine/blueberry. I’m in New Jersey, and it is peach season. I just couldn’t help myself. This morning I also preserved 11 1/2 pints of peach butter, I made them with peaches we picked yesterday at Giamarese Farm in East Brunswick, NJ
IMG_1266
I’m 99% sure that it’ll be delicious, but I’m also 100% sure that this is one of the ugliest things that I’ve ever made. The first galette’s dough ‘broke’ while I was folding it, and is bubbling away in a most unattractive way in the oven. The 2nd one seems to be doing better.

you should visit the Tuesdays With Dorie page to see more beautiful gallette’s than mine. The hosts for this week are Lisa and Andrea, they both have the recipe up on their sites–in case you’re interested in attempting to do this on your own.

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Dorie: a Blueberry and Peach Birthday Galette

  1. I love that home made rolling pin! So sweet that your Grandfather made it. I nearly went with blueberries and peaches, but I had a punnet of raspberries I needed to make use of.

  2. Pingback: Tuesdays With Dorie: Cheese and Tomato Galette | Bake with Amy

Leave a Reply

