Tuesdays with Dorie: Blueberry Nectarine Pie

This week our assignment was to make Blueberry Nectarine Pie, and make our own crust. I never make my own crust. Usually I buy a premade crust from the freezer section because they’re parve (contain no dairy) and easy. This wasn’t difficult, and it was delicious, and when I need a crust for a dairy meal, I promise I’ll make it again.

I have no pictures of the crust-making process because my hands were covered in flour and butter and shortening. So, sorry about that. I actually made it twice. The first time I made it I put in 1 1/2 times the water called for. I was trying to halve the recipe and forgot to halve the water until it was too late. I kneaded in some more flour and put it in the fridge. And then I made another one, this time with the correct amount of water. It still ended up sticky and I still had to add more flour, and it turned out fine. So I probably could have used the orginal crust. Its in the freezer waiting for its time to shine.

The filling is a cooked blueberry and nectarine filling. Its got a little lemon juice, sugar and some flour to thicken things up. Its delicious. That’s really all I can say about it.
IMG_0622IMG_0623

I made the crust and filling and put it all together and left it in the freezer until we came back from vacation. Two days after we got home, I preheated the oven, lined a sheet pan with aluminum foil, brushed the pie with a beaten egg and sprinkled a little sugar on top. I put it in the oven, and it needed to stay in there almost an hour–probably because it had started out frozen. It came out looking BEAUTIFUL. it smelled AMAZING. and tasted GREAT. I put it in the car, still warm, to bring it to an evening of wine and art that was hosted by my friend Charlene.IMG_0699 IMG_0701
The girls at the dinner party enjoyed it throroughly, and I pulled off a slice to put in Dorothy’s lunchbox today. She helped make the filling, so I hope she tastes it. (as it turns out, she did not. it got a little smooshed in her lunchbox, and she did not like the way it looked. it tasted great though–I ate it! Children really don’t have any taste buds.)

Check out some other beautiful examples of this pie by visiting our hosts for this week at Hillary’s blog: Manchego’s Kitchen and Liz’s blog: That Skinny Chick Can Bake, as hosts, they’ll have the recipe on their blogs. As always there will be a LYL (Leave your link) post at Tuesday’s With Dorie

23 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Blueberry Nectarine Pie

  1. I did the same thing; I was making half the recipe and added the full amount of water! I knew it wasn’t such a silly mistake to make!

    Anyway, your pie looks beautiful! This recipe’s a keeper.

  2. Your pie looks great! FYI–Guess what, you said the name of the host blog wrong. It’s That Skinny Chick Can Bake. I got a lol out of it, but for Liz’ sake, you might want to change it. ;)

  3. Sometimes if I’m halving a recipe, I’ll write out the proportions separately, because I’ve done the same thing you did and put in the full amount of one ingredient or another. I laughed when you told the story about your daughter – kid logic is very different from adult logic, isn’t it?

    • I like that the book always gives ‘make ahead’ suggestions of how long something can be stored or when to ‘pause’ the process. If it hadn’t been for the ability to freeze, I probably would not have baked the pie due to our summer travel schedule

  4. Pingback: Tuesdays With Dorie: French Apple Tart | Bake with Amy

Leave a Reply

