Borekas, a photo essay. Part one

This is something we grew up eating….my Nona made them and would bring them to us, usually in large ‘recycled’ plastic bags. When I went to college, she would pack them into boxes and send them, but only when it was winter. She didn’t want to send them in the warmer weather. When I moved to Dallas, I would bring them back with me when I came home for a visit. Now that I live in Florida, its too hot to ship them, and, lets face it, I’m too old to be receiving care packages from Nona, and she has macular degeneration which has rendered her unable to do things like this. Dorothy LOVES them, and its one of the only things that I can send with her to lunch and she will eat, so I started making them myself. And you can too.

First, I make the filling:

first step
boiling potatoes

Let the mashed potatoes cool and make the rest of the filling:

Grate the Romano cheese:
microplane love

a nice mountain

and mix that up with the farmer cheese, eggs and potatoes.
cheese in paper
whats in the bowl
I mix all of this together with the now cool potatoes until its a uniform texture and put it in the fridge until I’m ready to make the dough and put the whole thing together.
farmers cheese

Borekas Para desayuno (borekas for breakfast)

filling:

  • 2 smallish potatoes, mashed
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 5 eggs
  • 2 7.5 oz Farmer Cheese
  • 1/4 lb grated roman cheese
add cheeses, beaten eggs and salt to the cooled mashed potatoes.
3 thoughts on “Borekas, a photo essay. Part one

  1. Pingback: borekas–putting it all together | Bake with Amy

Leave a Reply

